Bon Homme County

Bon Homme County

Founded in 1862, Bon Homme County is home to Avon (41 minutes to Yankton), Scotland (35 minutes), Springfield (36 minutes), Tabor (21 minutes), and Tyndall (32 minutes). The county has a strong ethnic tradition honoring the European immigrants who homesteaded in the region. The welcoming and inclusive community is based on an agricultural economy. Bon Homme county borders Yankton county to the west and the Missouri River to the south. Springfield Recreation Area offers access to the Missouri River and Lewis & Clark Lake. The Avon, Bon Homme, and Scotland school districts provide education from kindergarten to high school....Learn More »

Cedar County, NE

Founded in 1857, Cedar county is named for its abundant cedar trees. Coleridge (38 minutes to Yankton), Fordyce (17 minutes), Hartington (28 minutes), Laurel (50 minutes), and Randolph (40 minutes) offer the charms of rural, small town living. The county organizes an annual county fair, bringing in top name country musicians to perform. Cedar county borders South Dakota along the Missouri River to the north. Bow Creek Recreation Area offers access to the Missouri National Recreational River. Public education from Kindergarten to high school is provided by Hartington-Newcastle Public Schools and Laurel-Concord-Coleridge Schools. Private education is available from Cedar Catholic Schools....Learn More »

Charles Mix County

Created in 1862, Charles Mix county was formally organized in 1879. Most distant of the counties in our region, Wagner (57 minutes to Yankton) is the only sizable town within an hour drive of Yankton. Other towns include Geddes (88 minutes), Lake Andes (74 minutes), Pickstown (70 minutes), and Platte (103 minutes). Charles Mix county is home to Lakota Sioux as well as the descendants of immigrants who came to the Midwest seeking a better life. Charles Mix borders the Missouri River to the south and Bon Homme county to the East. A large dam at Pickstown generates both electricity and jobs for the region. Agriculture is yet another important industry. Outdoor recreation is available at Pease Creek Recreation Area, North Point State Recreation Area, and the Lake Andes National Wildlife Refuge. The Platte-Geddes Community Schools and the Wagner Public School offer education from kindergarten to high school....Learn More »

Clay County

Organized in 1862, Clay county is home to Spirit Mound, a significant site due to its historical association with Native Americans and the Lewis and Clark Expedition. Irene (30 minutes to Yankton), Vermillion (32 minutes), and Wakonda (31 minutes) are the county’s chief towns. Vermillion is home to the National Music Museum. Industries in the county include agriculture, education, and manufacturing. Outdoor enthusiasts can access the Missouri National Recreational River to the south of Clay county. Irene-Wakonda and Vermillion school districts offer public education from kindergarten to high school. Vermillion is home to the University of South Dakota, offering numerous undergraduate and post-graduate programs....Learn More »

Hutchinson County

Created in 1862 and formally organized in 1871, Hutchinson county is home to several communities of Mennonites and Hutterites (Anabaptists) who came to the region in the late 1800s. Dimock (68 minutes to Yankton), Freeman (41 minutes), Menno (40 minutes), Parkston (63 minutes), and Tripp (52 minutes) celebrate their heritage while welcoming newcomers. Agriculture is the main industry, supplemented by manufacturing. Freeman Academy provides a private first grade through high school education. Public education is offered by Freeman School District, Menno Public School, and Tripp-Delmont School District....Learn More »

Knox County, NE

When Knox county was first organized in 1857, it was named L’Eau Qui Court (French for Running Water) in honor of the Niobrara River. Later it was renamed for General Henry Knox. Knox county is home to Bloomfield (32 minutes to Yankton), Creighton (55 minutes), Crofton (16 minutes), Niobrara (46 minutes), Santee (51 minutes), Verdigre (61 minutes), and Wausa (35 minutes). Heavily focused on the agricultural industry, Knox county is beautiful with rolling hills, and the Niobrara River. The Lewis & Clark Lake Recreation Area is located on the south side of the Lake. Niobrara State Park surrounds the confluence of the Niobrara and Missouri Rivers. Public kindergarten through high school education is offered by Bloomfield Community Schools, Creighton Community Public Schools, and Crofton Community Schools....Learn More »

Turner County

Turner county was founded in 1871 and named for John W. Turner, a member of the Dakota Territory legislature from 1865-1866. Centerville (45 minutes to Yankton), Chancellor (61 minutes), Hurley (50 minutes), Marion (51 minutes), Parker (55 minutes), and Viborg (41 minutes).  The village of Swan Lake near present-day Viborg was the first county seat, and Centerville takes its name as it was the halfway point on the stage line between Vermillion and Swan Lake.  Ethnic names and celebrations honor the European immigrants who homesteaded the county in the late 1800s. Turner county has a rural, agricultural economy. Centerville School District, Marion School District, Parker School District, and Viborg-Hurley Public School educate the future of Turner county from kindergarten through high school....Learn More »

Union County

Organized in 1862 during the American Civil War, Union county was named for the Union cause. Alcester (57 minutes to Yankton), Beresford (53 minutes), Elk Point (47 minutes), Jefferson (54 minutes), and North Sioux City (58 minutes) are Union county’s larger towns. Bordering Iowa on the east, and Nebraska on the South, Union county also borders the Big Sioux River and the Missouri River. Recreate at Union Grove State Park, Adams Homestead & Nature Preserve, or on the Missouri National Recreational River. Agriculture and manufacturing are the county’s main industries. Kindergarten through high school public education is provided by the Alcester-Hudson and Elk Point-Jefferson school districts....Learn More »

Yankton County

In 1861, Yankton was designated as territorial capital and the county was organized around the same time. Local Native Americans called the area “E-Hank-Ton-Wan” meaning “people of the end village”, which shortened over the years to Yankton. The county is home to Gayville (17 minutes to Yankton), Irene (30 minutes), and the eponymous Yankton. Yankton borders Nebraska to the south across the Missouri River. Recreational opportunities abound at Chief White Crane Recreation Area, Cottonwood Recreation Area, Pierson Ranch Recreation Area, and Lewis & Clark Lake Recreation Area surrounding Lewis & Clark Lake. Access the Missouri National Recreational River to the south. Major industries in the county include agriculture, healthcare, and manufacturing. Yankton School District offers quality public education from preschool to high school. Gayville-Volin School District offers elementary through high school education. Missouri Valley Christian Academy and Sacred Heart School provide private options for pre-kindergarten through 8th grade. Yankton is home to Mount...Learn More »
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email